Matloub Husayn Ali Khan

I am Matloub Husayn Ali Khan, Free-lance Journalist/Broadcaster & Projects Management Consultant.

I worked as a Mechanical Engineer for around 12 years with voluntary community work (activism) in the late 1970s and full-time youth work practitioner in 1986. I was employed as a Council Officer within the Sheffield City Council's Education Department (Youth Service) which ended in 2000. I studied in Sheffield and Manchester and gained a B.A. (Hons) Degree in Social Studies post-graduate Diploma in Youth Work, 1988 and 1990, respectively. In the 1980s, I was very active in political activism through groups like Asian Youth Movement and other struggles around Human Rights concerning my place of birth Kashmir. My interest in writing goes back to my School days – when I wrote an article on ‘life in Pakistan/Kashmir’ for the school magazine n 1972-73. To my fellow Pakistani pupil’s horror! The pioneering “Roots 85” overland trip to Pakistan/Kashmir my place of birth as mentioned here in the Burngreave Messenger & follow: